Virtual Conference & Expo
September 14-15, 2021

2021 AGENDA

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

All times listed for DeveloperWeek Global: Cloud 2021 are for PDT – Pacific Daylight Time.

7:00 AM – 4:00 PM PDT 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM EDT 15:00 – 00:00 BST 16:00 – 01:00 CET 17:00 – 02:00 MSK

Registration Open

7:00 AM – 3:00 PM PDT 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM EDT 15:00 – 23:00 BST 16:00 – 00:00 CET 17:00 – 01:00 MSK

Expo Hall Open

8:00 AM – 8:25 AM PDT 11:00 AM – 11:25 AM EDT 16:00 – 16:25 BST 17:00 – 17:25 CET 18:00 – 18:25 MSK

Session 1

8:00 AM – 8:25 AM PDT 11:00 AM – 11:25 AM EDT 16:00 – 16:25 BST 17:00 – 17:25 CET 18:00 – 18:25 MSK Session 1

Main Stage

FEATURED TALK: Databases on Kubernetes: Why You Should Care
Denis Rosa (Senior Developer Advocate), Couchbase

Workshop Stage 1

Obviously a Major Malfunction… Lessons 35 Years after the Challenger Disaster
Robert Barron (AIOps Lead, IBM Garage for Technical Solution Acceleration), IBM

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Lagoon: The Secret to High-Performing Developers & Happier Ops Teams
Michael Schmid (Head of Technology, Founder, and Partner), amazee.io

Expo Stage

8:30 AM – 9:00 AM PDT 11:30 AM – 12:00 PM EDT 16:30 – 17:00 BST 17:30 – 18:00 CET 18:30 – 19:00 MSK

Networking Break + Expo Zone

9:00 AM – 9:25 AM PDT 12:00 PM – 12:25 PM EDT 17:00 – 17:25 BST 18:00 – 18:25 CET 19:00 – 19:25 MSK

Session 2

9:00 AM – 9:25 AM PDT 12:00 PM – 12:25 PM EDT 17:00 – 17:25 BST 18:00 – 18:25 CET 19:00 – 19:25 MSK Session 2

Main Stage

Accelerating the Inner Loop Development for Kubernetes
Daniel Oh (Principal Technical Product Marketing Manager), Red Hat

Workshop Stage 1

The (Too) Many Faces of Architecture
Mihaela-Roxana Ghidersa (Software Developer), Centric IT Solutions

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Building Resilient Applications Using Observability
Chinmay Gaikwad (Tech Evangelist), Epsagon

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Observability in the Cloud
Imaya Kumar Jagannathan (Senior Specialist Solution Architect, Observability), Amazon Web Services

9:30 AM – 9:55 AM PDT 12:30 PM – 12:55 PM EDT 17:30 – 17:55 BST 18:30 – 18:55 CET 19:30 – 19:55 MSK

Session 3

9:30 AM – 9:55 AM PDT 12:30 PM – 12:55 PM EDT 17:30 – 17:55 BST 18:30 – 18:55 CET 19:30 – 19:55 MSK Session 3

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: Cloudsmith — Continuous Software Pipelines: Why Enterprises Are Going Cloud-Native
Dan McKinney (Developer Relations Lead), Cloudsmith

Workshop Stage 1

The Journey of Achieving No-Ops in the Era of Hyper Transformation
Santanoo Bhattacharjee (Solutions Expert – Advanced Architecture (Cloud & DevOps)), Accenture

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Develop Cloud-Native Apps on K8s with Postgres
Adam Wright (Senior Product Manager), EDB

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Observability in the Cloud
Imaya Kumar Jagannathan (Senior Specialist Solution Architect, Observability), Amazon Web Services

10:00 AM – 10:25 AM PDT 1:00 PM – 1:25 PM EDT 18:00 – 18:25 BST 19:00 – 19:25 CET 20:00 – 20:25 MSK

Session 4

10:00 AM – 10:25 AM PDT 1:00 PM – 1:25 PM EDT 18:00 – 18:25 BST 19:00 – 19:25 CET 20:00 – 20:25 MSK Session 4

Main Stage

Deploying an Oracle Database as a Docker Container
Sean Stacey (Director of Product Management), Oracle

Workshop Stage 1

Computer Vision from the Edge to the Cloud Done Easy
Flo Pachinger (Developer Advocate), Cisco System

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: StorageOS

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Relational Databases: Don’t Call It a Comeback!
Rob Hedgpeth (Director, Developer Relations), MariaDB

10:30 AM – 10:55 AM PDT 1:30 PM – 1:55 PM EDT 18:30 – 18:55 BST 19:30 – 19:55 CET 20:30 – 20:55 MSK

Session 5

10:30 AM – 10:55 AM PDT 1:30 PM – 1:55 PM EDT 18:30 – 18:55 BST 19:30 – 19:55 CET 20:30 – 20:55 MSK Session 5

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: PagerDuty — Leaning on Technology in the New Noisey: Managing Cloud, Change, and Risk
Michael Cucchi (Vice President of Product), PagerDuty

Workshop Stage 1

Workshop Stage 2

Expo Stage

11:00 AM – 11:25 AM PDT 2:00 PM – 2:25 PM EDT 19:00 – 19:25 BST 20:00 – 20:25 CET 21:00 – 21:25 MSK

Session 6

11:00 AM – 11:25 AM PDT 2:00 PM – 2:25 PM EDT 19:00 – 19:25 BST 20:00 – 20:25 CET 21:00 – 21:25 MSK Session 6

Main Stage

OPEN TALK: What Exactly IS Serverless, Anyway?
Rain Leander (AppDev Technical Evangelist), Cockroach Labs

Workshop Stage 1

Advanced Caching Patterns Used by 2000 Microservices
Natan Silnitsky (Backend Infra Developer), Wix.com

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Unlock Cassandra Data for Application Developers Using GraphQL and REST APIs with Stargate.IO
Cedrick Lunven (Director of Developer Advocacy) & Patrick McFadin (VP of Developer Relations), DataStax

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: The Scale Trap: How We Reduced Our CPU Utilization from 80% To 15%
Ezequiel Nulman (R&D Team Lead), Granulate

11:30 AM – 11:55 AM PDT 2:30 PM – 2:55 PM EDT 19:30 – 19:55 BST 20:30 – 20:55 CET 21:30 – 21:55 MSK

Session 7

11:30 AM – 11:55 AM PDT 2:30 PM – 2:55 PM EDT 19:30 – 19:55 BST 20:30 – 20:55 CET 21:30 – 21:55 MSK Session 7

Main Stage

Ready for Cloud Native 2.0? 3 DevOps Strategies for the Next Era in Cloud Native
Bruno Andrade (CEO), Shipa.io

Workshop Stage 1

Solving Event-Driven Application Development Challenges in the Cloud
Sanjai Marimadaiah (Chief Product Officer), Push Technology

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: The Constant Company

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Authorization across the Stack
Peter ONeill (Community Advocate), Styra

12:00 PM – 12:30 PM PDT 3:00 PM – 3:30 PM EDT 20:00 – 20:30 BST 21:00 – 21:30 CET 22:00 – 22:30 MSK

Networking Break + Expo Zone

12:30 PM – 12:55 PM PDT 3:30 PM – 3:55 PM EDT 20:30 – 20:55 BST 21:30 – 21:55 CET 22:30 – 22:55 MSK

Session 8

12:30 PM – 12:55 PM PDT 3:30 PM – 3:55 PM EDT 20:30 – 20:55 BST 21:30 – 21:55 CET 22:30 – 22:55 MSK Session 8

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: VMware — How to Maintain Production-ready Quality When Chasing Innovations in Cloud
James Watters (CTO, Modern Application Platforms), VMware

Workshop Stage 1

Build Everything on Serverless!
Divakar Kumar (Senior Software Engineer), H&M | MCT

Workshop Stage 2

DevInnovation OPEN TALK: Bridgecrew ( DEVOPS summit)

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Keep Your Head in the Cloud and Your Documents Too with Datalogics PDF Cloud Solutions
David Behrns (Senior Director of Product), Datalogics

1:00 PM – 1:25 PM PDT 4:00 PM – 4:25 PM EDT 21:00 – 21:25 BST 22:00 – 22:25 CET 23:00 – 23:25 MSK

Session 9

1:00 PM – 1:25 PM PDT 4:00 PM – 4:25 PM EDT 21:00 – 21:25 BST 22:00 – 22:25 CET 23:00 – 23:25 MSK Session 9

Main Stage

Breaking Deep Learning Models with Adversarial Examples
Pau Labarta Bajo (Developer), Toptal

Workshop Stage 1

Choreography vs Orchestration in Serverless Microservices
Mete Atamel (Developer Advocate), Google

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Improve Cloud Threat Detection and Response Using the MITRE ATT&CK Framework
Daniella Pontes (Security Product Marketing Manager), Sysdig

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: How Your Applications Are under Attack – Struts2 Vulnerability Workshop
Austin Becker (Solutions Engineer), Sonatype

1:30 PM – 1:55 PM PDT 4:30 PM – 4:55 PM EDT 21:30 – 21:55 BST 22:30 – 22:55 CET 23:30 – 23:55 MSK

Session 10

1:30 PM – 1:55 PM PDT 4:30 PM – 4:55 PM EDT 21:30 – 21:55 BST 22:30 – 22:55 CET 23:30 – 23:55 MSK Session 10

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: Splunk — Making Your Applications Observable with OpenTelemetry
Chris Riley (Sr DevOps Advocate), Splunk

Workshop Stage 1

Microservices Architecture & Deployment

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Improve Cloud Threat Detection and Response Using the MITRE ATT&CK Framework
Daniella Pontes (Security Product Marketing Manager), Sysdig

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: How Your Applications Are under Attack – Struts2 Vulnerability Workshop
Austin Becker (Solutions Engineer), Sonatype

2:00 PM – 2:25 PM PDT 5:00 PM – 5:25 PM EDT 22:00 – 22:25 BST 23:00 – 23:25 CET 00:00 – 00:25 MSK

Session 11

2:00 PM – 2:25 PM PDT 5:00 PM – 5:25 PM EDT 22:00 – 22:25 BST 23:00 – 23:25 CET 00:00 – 00:25 MSK Session 11

Main Stage

Future of Cloud-Native Computing

Workshop Stage 1

Serverless on Azure
Jason Farrell (Senior Consultant), Microsoft

Workshop Stage 2

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Putting the Five Pillars of the AWS into Practice
Mike Watson (SVP Engineering) & Hamdy Eed (Sr. Solution Architect), Excellarate & AWS

2:30 PM – 2:55 PM PDT 5:30 PM – 5:55 PM EDT 22:30 – 22:55 BST 23:30 – 23:55 CET 00:30 – 00:55 MSK

Session 12

2:30 PM – 2:55 PM PDT 5:30 PM – 5:55 PM EDT 22:30 – 22:55 BST 23:30 – 23:55 CET 00:30 – 00:55 MSK Session 12

Main Stage

Future of Cloud-Native Computing

Workshop Stage 1

Service Architecture: Splitting a Monolith to Microservices
Joy Ebertz (Sr. Staff Engineer), Split

Workshop Stage 2

Making OSS Vault Highly Available Backed by NFS
Karthikeyan Govindaraj (Cloud Native and DevOps Architect), BlackRock

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Using Engineering Metrics to Identify Delivery Workflow Bottlenecks
Dan Lines (Co-Founder & COO), LinearB

3:00 PM – 3:30 PM PDT 6:00 PM – 6:30 PM EDT 23:00 – 23:30 BST 00:00 – 00:30 CET 01:00 – 01:30 MSK

VIP Networking Reception

Wednesday, September 15, 2021

All times listed for DeveloperWeek Global: Cloud 2021 are for PDT – Pacific Daylight Time.

8:00 AM – 2:00 PM PDT 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM EDT 16:00 – 22:00 BST 17:00 – 23:00 CET 18:00 – 00:00 MSK

Expo Hall Open

9:00 AM – 9:25 AM PDT 12:00 PM – 12:25 PM EDT 17:00 – 17:25 BST 18:00 – 18:25 CET 19:00 – 19:25 MSK

Session 1

9:00 AM – 9:25 AM PDT 12:00 PM – 12:25 PM EDT 17:00 – 17:25 BST 18:00 – 18:25 CET 19:00 – 19:25 MSK Session 1

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: Citrix — DevOps from the Provider Perspective
Pat Patterson (Director of Developer Evangelism), Citrix

Workshop Stage 1

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Level up Your Gaming Telemetry Using Kafka Stream
Evan Shortiss (Technical Marketing Manager), Red Hat

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Cloud-Native Pipelines: Secure Software Delivery, Made Simple
Andrew Speed (Staff Software Engineer), Cloudsmith

9:30 AM – 9:55 AM PDT 12:30 PM – 12:55 PM EDT 17:30 – 17:55 BST 18:30 – 18:55 CET 19:30 – 19:55 MSK

Session 1

9:30 AM – 9:55 AM PDT 12:30 PM – 12:55 PM EDT 17:30 – 17:55 BST 18:30 – 18:55 CET 19:30 – 19:55 MSK Session 1

Main Stage

FluentD – Making Logging Easy and Effective In Multicloud and Hybrid
Phil Wilkins (Snr Consultant and Design Authority – PaaS, Author & Blogger), Capgemini UK

Workshop Stage 1

Workshop Stage 2

Expo Stage

9:30 AM – 10:00 AM PDT 12:30 PM – 1:00 PM EDT 17:30 – 18:00 BST 18:30 – 19:00 CET 19:30 – 20:00 MSK

Networking Break + Expo Zone

10:00 AM – 10:25 AM PDT 1:00 PM – 1:25 PM EDT 18:00 – 18:25 BST 19:00 – 19:25 CET 20:00 – 20:25 MSK

Session 2

10:00 AM – 10:25 AM PDT 1:00 PM – 1:25 PM EDT 18:00 – 18:25 BST 19:00 – 19:25 CET 20:00 – 20:25 MSK Session 2

Main Stage

Monitoring Redis Infrastructure with Sentinels
Dmitry Polyakovsky (Sr. Software Developer), Oracle Cloud

Workshop Stage 1

AI-Assisted Performance Feedback in API Programming
Malith Jayasinghe (VP of Research), WSO2

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Synthetic Monitoring and Single Page Apps: How to Increase Control, Visibility, and Performance
Tetiana Kelly (Developer Advocate), Splunk

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Improve Your Automation to Reduce Toil
Mandi Walls (DevOps Advocate), PagerDuty

10:30 AM – 10:55 AM PDT 1:30 PM – 1:55 PM EDT 18:30 – 18:55 BST 19:30 – 19:55 CET 20:30 – 20:55 MSK

Session 3

10:30 AM – 10:55 AM PDT 1:30 PM – 1:55 PM EDT 18:30 – 18:55 BST 19:30 – 19:55 CET 20:30 – 20:55 MSK Session 3

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: NetApp — Optimize Your Apps to Run on Any Cloud
Ronen Schwartz (SVP and GM Cloud Volumes), NetApp

Workshop Stage 1

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Open Source or Open Core? What Needs to Be Evaluated Before Diving In.
Anil Inamdar (VP and Global Head of Data Solutions), Instaclustr

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Improve Your Automation to Reduce Toil
Mandi Walls (DevOps Advocate), PagerDuty

11:00 AM – 11:25 AM PDT 2:00 PM – 2:25 PM EDT 19:00 – 19:25 BST 20:00 – 20:25 CET 21:00 – 21:25 MSK

Session 4

11:00 AM – 11:25 AM PDT 2:00 PM – 2:25 PM EDT 19:00 – 19:25 BST 20:00 – 20:25 CET 21:00 – 21:25 MSK Session 4

Main Stage

How to Maintain Production-ready Quality When Chasing Innovations in Cloud
Anne McCormick (Technical Leader), Cisco

Workshop Stage 1

Successfully Roll Out Chat-Bots in the Enterprise Space : Notes from the Field
Prashant G Bhoyar (Senior Solution Architect), WithumSmith

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Solving Multi-Region and Hybrid-Cloud Data Replication with Apache Cassandra
Aaron Ploetz (NoSQL Engineering Lead), DataStax

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Observability and the Glorious Future
Charity Majors (Co-founder and CTO), Honeycomb

11:30 AM – 12:00 PM PDT 2:30 PM – 3:00 PM EDT 19:30 – 20:00 BST 20:30 – 21:00 CET 21:30 – 22:00 MSK

Networking Break + Expo Zone

12:00 PM – 12:25 PM PDT 3:00 PM – 3:25 PM EDT 20:00 – 20:25 BST 21:00 – 21:25 CET 22:00 – 22:25 MSK

Session 5

12:00 PM – 12:25 PM PDT 3:00 PM – 3:25 PM EDT 20:00 – 20:25 BST 21:00 – 21:25 CET 22:00 – 22:25 MSK Session 5

Main Stage

From Developer to Cloud Architect
Lorenzo Barbieri (Solutions Architect), Microsoft

Workshop Stage 1

Left, Right and All Around – Security throughout Your K8s Environment
Leonardo Murillo (Founder), Cloud Native Architects

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: StorageOS

Expo Stage

OPEN TALK: Observability and the Glorious Future
Charity Majors (Co-founder and CTO), Honeycomb

12:30 PM – 12:55 PM PDT 3:30 PM – 3:55 PM EDT 20:30 – 20:55 BST 21:30 – 21:55 CET 22:30 – 22:55 MSK

Session 6

12:30 PM – 12:55 PM PDT 3:30 PM – 3:55 PM EDT 20:30 – 20:55 BST 21:30 – 21:55 CET 22:30 – 22:55 MSK Session 6

Main Stage

When I Grow Up I Want to Be a Platform!
Sidney Shek (Architect, Core Architecture Team) & Diogo Lucas, Atlassian

Workshop Stage 1

Securing CI/CD Pipelines
Angel Rivera (Developer Advocate) CircleCI

Workshop Stage 2

OPEN TALK: Cybersecurity at a Global Scale: Addressing Next Generation Supply Chain Issues in Open Source Ecosystems
Sal Kimmich (Developer Advocate), Sonatype

Expo Stage

From a Database in Container to DBaaS on Kubernetes
Peter Zaitsev (CEO), Percona

1:00 PM – 1:25 PM PDT 4:00 PM – 4:25 PM EDT 21:00 – 21:25 BST 22:00 – 22:25 CET 23:00 – 23:25 MSK

Session 7

1:00 PM – 1:25 PM PDT 4:00 PM – 4:25 PM EDT 21:00 – 21:25 BST 22:00 – 22:25 CET 23:00 – 23:25 MSK Session 7

Main Stage

KEYNOTE: GoodData — How Cloud Native Will Transform the Future of Business Analytics
Roman Stanek (CEO), GoodData

Workshop Stage 1

Workshop Stage 2

Expo Stage

1:30 PM – 2:00 PM PDT 4:30 PM – 5:00 PM EDT 21:30 – 22:00 BST 22:30 – 23:00 CET 23:30 – 00:00 MSK

Closing Remarks + Hackathon Winners

Build your Schedule

Monday, September 13, is our Day Zero Event: AWS .NET Enterprise Developer Day (open to all Pass holders!).

To see only sessions on Tuesday, September 14 & Wednesday, September 15, click the checkboxes next to those days under the “Days” tab on the gray sidebar on the left below